PS 4 Division Play

I finally gave in and got my PS 4. It is one of those things that is actually better than what I had hoped. The machine itself is smaller, quieter, and better than my PS 3 and I’m happy with it so you can imagine how happy I am with the 4.

I also finally got my hands on The Division. I got it at Walmart for $30, no season pass yet, that can wait.

Tom Clancy's The Division™_20170411102059

One of my characters, shores of Brooklyn at night.

The game is visually and audibly more immersive than youtube videos can show. I like how most of the sounds come from the TV, but I get ISAC messages from the controller and multiplayer chat is through a mic/headphone combo that plugs into the controller.

In terms of game play I’m hooked. I am not generally used to the controller, with my PS 3 I played mostly Gran Turismo 5 and used a steering wheel controller. So I am a bit clumsy with the controller but I am slowly adapting.

Currently I am playing two characters, my first character has gone to Manhattan and liberated the base. My other character is female and is close behind, I am currently clearing the precinct.

Tom Clancy's The Division™_20170412212503

My Second character with Splinter Cell gear on.

With the second character I am using the shield as my primary skill and with my clumsy play style it helps since I can make a stand and take some hits. The only bad thing about the shield is that only handguns can be used.

The game is over a year old now but as a new player I am kicking myself for not getting it earlier. I like the almost everything about the game and if I were reviewing it I would give it a 9.5/10.

Having the game is also giving me a better feel for the work I am putting into the miniature game. The two games have vastly different rules and style of game play, but I hope to capture the feel of The Division in my work.

As a side note The Division reminds me a lot of the Phoenix Command rules, with the exception of the player physically doing the aiming. The damage system is fairly complex with big numbers being calculated based on gear and character level. As a tabletop system however this gets too complex and cumbersome and is better left to gaming consoles and PC’s that can do the math.

Tom Clancy's The Division™_20170410205059

Tom Clancy’s The Division™_20170410205059

Leave a Reply

